Even more on hallucination, this time with added Mariah Carey

I do worry sometimes that I might be psychic. It seems all too common that I post on a topic and then within hours someone else posts on exactly the same topic, usually irritatingly more concisely than I did.

image

Mariah wishes you a happy and hallucinatory Christmas. (Image from Irishhips on DeviantArt, under Creative Commons licence.)

Yes, I know: confirmation bias. I post on things I’m interested in and I follow blogs on topics I’m interested in. I shouldn’t be surprised at serendipity throwing a few matched pairs my way. But, hey, if assigning active causation to coincidence is good enough for up to 98% of the world’s population, I might as well follow suit.

Anyway, after my little ramble about hallucination yesterday, the ever-entertaining I Fucking Love Science blog has linked to a deconstructed version of “All I Want For Christmas” in which many people actually hear Ms Carey’s dulcet tones. I certainly got a bit of it, especially where the word “you” would be sung. Nice evidence of the fact that the brain’s prior informational state directly impacts upon perception.

It also happens to be rather awesome, sounding distinctly as though Conlon Nancarrow had got to work on it.

One thought on “Even more on hallucination, this time with added Mariah Carey

Leave a Reply

